The Ninth Day of Christmas

On the ninth day of Christmas no more excuses, no more debate

The time has come to get back in shape.

DSCF2886

Working out is definitely not one of my favorite things to do, but I know that it is the only way to actually stay healthy. Eating right is part of it, but without physical exertion, your body cannot maintain.  A sedentary life opens the door for all sorts of terrible things including being over-weight, diabetes, depression, muscle deterioration, and aging. Granted you cannot reverse the aging process, but you can certainly slow it down.

Last year I stopped working out because of injury. Honestly though, I was looking for any excuse. I truly hate working out. I’ll go for a walk, work in the garden, or do housework, but none of that is enough. It takes weight training and really getting your pulse up for more than 20 minutes to make any difference.

So, my knee isn’t completely healed from the torn meniscus and my lower back is still weak (which it has been all my life), but I can no longer keep dwelling on this. It is time to get back down in the basement and push myself. No time, too many other things on my to do list, or promising to do it tomorrow are just excuses that I am no longer going to accept.

The ninth day of Christmas seemed like as good a day as any to make it happen. I put on my sweatpants, pulled my hair into a ponytail, put on my tennis shoes, and walked that lonely mile down the stairs into the cold basement. Thirty minutes later I crawled back up the stairs.

Thirty minutes isn’t bad for the first time in more than nine months to actually do a pull down or tricep extension or bicep curl or shoulder press. In fact, coming back up the stairs I could already feel my muscles aching. That’s a good sign — another reason I hate working out. How can pain be a good sign! I know, I know, there’s no other way to actually get back in shape other than to shock the muscles and make them do things they have never done before (or at least not done in too long a time).

The ninth day of Christmas and I’m on my way to getting back in shape. I’m not fooling myself into believing that in 30 days I’ll have that killer bod I always wanted or look and feel 20 again, but it sure would be nice to get a little more tone in my arms, improve my stamina, and really start getting some strength back into my knee. And hey, if I can lose a few pounds and stop having to squeeze into my clothes on a daily basis and have them actually fit me they way they should, I won’t complain.

Getting back on track to be healthy and fit, it feels good (emotionally at least, let’s not even think about how my body is going to feel for the next couple days), and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

One response

  1. I wish I could say you inspired me to throw on my clothes and head to the gym or even take a brisk walk (if my knee wasn’t killing me) but instead I’m lounging around catching up on blogs! Sigh… maybe later…. or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

