Using Every Last Strawberry

Although Grace and I only picked 20 pounds of strawberries this year, I had to make sure not a single one went to waste. So, when I found myself left with too few for jam, pie, or shortcake, it was time to come up with something new.

Strawberries are not typically one of those fruits I like to eat warm. It could be because they tend to get soft or maybe it’s just a texture thing, but I prefer my berries with a bit of crunch to them. Even when making jam I do my best to cook them for only a short time and usually the first batch of the season isn’t even sealed because I don’t want the jam subjected to the boiling water bath for even 10 minutes.

Even with this slight aversion to cooking strawberries, I decided to give making a strawberry cookie a try. Check out my post at Simply Grateful Cooking for Soft Strawberry Cheese Cookies.

DSCF4772

Boy am I glad I decide to try these. They were soft, creamy, sweet, and full of wonderfully tender strawberries. The family made short work of them which means I get to try another new recipe very soon, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

6 responses

  1. Interesting idea. I was thinking of trying a cooked strawberry pie. Usually our strawberry season is over by the end of June but I picked up fresh berries at a local stand this morning and they appear to still be going strong! We have many strawberry fields in our area, thankfully.

    • It’s been so hot here that the strawberry season was somewhat short. My small patch on the side of the house will produce until fall, but it’s only a berry or two at a time right now. Hopefully in a few years I’ll have more to enjoy for a longer period of time.

Leave a Reply

