What to do with those beets!

Planting beets has become somewhat of a tradition here at our house. For the past three years now I have enjoyed success with growing beets and because of this it was only natural that I would plant them again this year. The trouble with this is the pantry is already full of canned and pickled beets. Not that they’ll go bad or anything, but there is only so much space in the pantry and beets have taken up their allotment.

DSCF5069

Yesterdays Beet Harvest

In the past I’ve done four things with the beets we’ve harvested from the garden:

  1. Pickled Beets
  2. Canned Beets
  3. Beet Jelly
  4. And the last is Beet-Horseradish Relish which I made last year for the first time.

I posted the recipe for the Beet-Horseradish Relish on Simply Grateful Canning if you’d like to check it out.

Besides making the relish I also decided to try and make the most of the beet greens. We aren’t too big on eating a big variety of greens around here, but when I read I could freeze them and use them to make stock I figured what’s the worst thing that could happen? I’d end up throwing out a batch of stock if it didn’t taste good. The only precaution I read was that the beet greens would probably turn the stock reddish or brownish depending on what kind of stock you were making. No worries, I can deal with that and if it gives the stock another dimension of flavor, well that’s just an added bonus on top of the added nutrients.

The process for freezing beet greens is posted on Simply Grateful Canning Making The Most Of Your Beets, if you’re interested.

I plan on planting another crop in August for the fall. Why? I’m not really sure, but when I’ve had as difficult a time in the garden as I have had this year, I need a little gardening success. I might can them or perhaps I’ll just give them to the neighbors. Either way they won’t go to waste, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Does anyone have other ideas for canning or using beets?

11 responses

  1. LOVE BEETS wish I had planted some this spring… we also eat them freshly cooked as Harvard Beets and I love Orange Beets… not sure either of these are good for canning but they do add a little verity to a meal with fresh beets… so sorry to have been away from see you lately…. things have been a zoo with both my husband and son working flood clean up and my work?? miss reading and will try to catch up … the post TO DIE FOR STRAWBERRY RHUBARB PIE FILLING IS a Must for this weekends dinner!

    • It’s so good to hear from you. I’ve never heard of orange beets so I’ll have to give those a try. It sure sounds like you have your hands full with the flood situation as well as work. Pace yourself. It wouldn’t be good to burn yourself out when things are so busy. I hope you get to the strawberry rhubarb pie though.

  2. We love beets fried in butter, of course anything not so good for you tastes the best. I chop my beets the size that we like for vegetable soup then I blanche them and freeze them. We didn’t care for them so much because we had a freezer burn taste to them, but since I began making sure they were completely cooled before putting them into a freezer bag that problem is solved. For me freezing is easier, I tried canning, but must do something wrong as they don’t keep well for me. Happy beet eating!! They look delicious and I can’t wait for ours to be ready.

Leave a Reply

