6-Month Hiatus

It’s been a long while! Six months and a day since my last post here at Simply Grateful Housewife and even now writing is not going to again be part of my normal routine.

So much has happened in the past 6 months, but not a day has gone by that I haven’t thought about blogging. I have piles of recipes and post ideas ready for the writing, but time just escapes me. When Hubby retired ten months ago I never dreamed that so many things that filled my days would suddenly become things of the past. It’s not that I don’t want to do them anymore, but for the moment I don’t NEED them as I used to.

Blogging used to be more of an escape for me. It filled in the long hours I spent alone — or at least without the company of my Hubby. Seeing him 16 hours a week for nearly two years and not much more than that for the twenty or so years prior to that, I was always looking for things to fill my time. Crafting, scrapbooking, writing, journaling, cooking, canning, blogging, and then gardening were just a few of the things I took up. Through the years I got burned out doing several of them, but the last batch of time-fillers I had chosen are still high on my list of things I want to do, it’s just that now isn’t their time.

Now my days are spent enjoying the company of a husband that I never truly got to know. It’s amazing how I could have been married to this person for 24 years  and am just now beginning to really know him.  Spending 24/7 with him for ten months is bound to give you a bit more insight into a person.

For better or worse! Hubby has brought this up many times and always concludes it with, “We’ve did the worse part for the past 23 years, so how about trying for the better part now!” Sounds like a plan.

We’ve taken day trips, seen parts of Michigan that we’ve never seen, done things we’ve never done, and spent days just sitting together doing absolutely nothing and yet we’re not bored. At first I thought I’d want to do all the things I thought I was missing out on. Now I’m just happy to spend a quiet morning with him sitting in front of the computer drinking coffee and me putzing around the house. Just having him home is enough to fulfill me.

This too shall pass!

Maybe.

I’m not going to expect this honeymoon phase to last forever and I can’t say honestly that there haven’t been days when he’s gotten on my nerves and I have to run up to the store to escape, but when I think back about all the time we lost and will never get back, I think I’ll take being with him rather than without him.

I’m always surprised to see how many visitors I receive each day on my blog and want to thank all of you for stopping by. I know as Hubby and I get more used to being together I’ll be able to return to blogging and do look forward to it. I miss the blogging but at the same time I don’t want to take time to do something so completely selfish — not now. Eventually the day will come when I’ll be able to split my time between “making up for lost time with Hubby” and doing the things that I enjoy doing by myself, but for now the only thing I want to fill my time is Hubby. That being said, who’s to say that day won’t come next week or even tomorrow?

At the moment Hubby is sitting in the office, in front of the computer, drinking coffee. I’m sitting on the couch, with Bell between my legs sleeping, and blogging. Not a bad way to spend the evening, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

 

11 responses

  1. Thanks for this post so glad that your absence has been for this wonderful reason. My husband keeps threatening to retire and it has almost scared me. You have reassured me that it would be a good thing. Great to read your post.

    • It was an incredibly different experience to have him home so much all at once. At first we were sort of walking on egg shells around each other all the time. He didn’t want to get in the way, and I didn’t want to seem too set in my ways. After 10 months we are finally seeming to get into more or a groove. I go my way for some of the time, he goes his way, and then the rest of the time we are together. Far different than having 95% of our time going our separate ways.

  2. My husband and a I were talking about this last night. We have deprived ourselves of spending time with one another because we are too afraid to spend any money because of our debt. We are missing out on life! Thank you for your post!

    • There are so many things you can do without spending money or spending very little money. We go to the gym together, take lots of walks, go to a nearby outdoor mall and walk Bell, and when we want to splurge we take a day trip. Day trips can be cheap too as long as you plan ahead, pack a lunch, snacks, and drinks, and go places where there are lots of free attractions or inexpensive ones. Plus we always make sure we can do the roundtrip the same day, so no over night charges. The most important thing is to spend the time with each other. Heck, for the first month he was home I don’t think we went more than a few miles from home and only a few times at that.

  3. I love this post. So wonderful that you have this time together. My husband retired first and I retired 3 years ago. Finding the groove that worked best for us was a little challenging the first year but we have fallen into such a wonderful way about things that is keeping us fresh and happy. Enjoy your time we never know what lies ahead.

Leave a Reply

