Christmas Cookie #2 – 5 for 1 Chocolate Cake Mix Crinkles

Most of the time I am all for making everything from scratch, when possible.  On occasion though, I come across a recipe that looks too simple to pass up and when tried, turns out to be so good, I have to add it to my recipe box. This recipe is one of those.

Back several years ago while reading one of Joanne Fluke’s cooking mysteries I came across a recipe for Lemon Whippersnappers.  I just had to give them a try.  They were so awesome, they immediately became a hit with the whole family.  Then it was time to do some experimenting.  Adding different types of chips, fruit, or flavorings as well as changing the flavor of the cake mix, opened a world of options.

This morning, I decided to get a jump-start on Christmas party desserts and make a couple batches of Chocolate Crinkles.  Last year after Christmas I made a note to make as many different types of cookie dough and freeze it for Christmas as I could.  I put that note on November 1st.  Unfortunately, November was spent decorating, so for 2015, I’ve put this note on October 1st.

What is so great about this recipe is that it require on four ingredients, plus whatever additions you can imagine.

DSCF6030 DSCF6031

Today I used five different types of chips in the chocolate cake mix base and ended up with a tin of cookies to enjoy as well as 8 dozen cookies ready for baking in the freezer.

Chocolate Cake Mix Crinkles

From Top Clockwise:  Caramel Chip, Mint Chip, Double Chocolate Crinkle, M&M chip, and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip.

From Top Clockwise: Caramel Chip, Mint Chip, Double Chocolate Crinkle, M&M chip, and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip.

  • 1 Package Chocolate Cake Mix (I prefer Duncan Hines)
  • 2 Cups Cool Whip
  • 1 Egg
  • Powdered Sugar

Mix together cake mix, cool whip, and beaten egg.

DSCF6032

Dough will be stiff.

DSCF6034

Add any chips or fruit you prefer, or leave plain and roll teaspoons full of dough in powdered sugar.

Mini Chocolate Chips

Mini Chocolate Chips

M&M Chips

M&M Chips

Caramel Chips

Caramel Chips

Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chips

Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chips

Mint Filled Chocolate Chips

Mint Filled Chocolate Chips

I usually only roll a few types of this cookie in powdered sugar.  It is not a necessary step, it’s more for looks than anything else.

DSCF6039

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and let sit on tray for 2 minutes.  Remove to wire rack.

These cookies are just a bit crispy on the outside and super soft and chewy on the inside.

I only made a couple dozen for us to enjoy today and froze the rest.  I put them on parchment paper and freeze them before placing in plastic bags.

DSCF6041

I label the bags with cooking instructions, so it’s real easy to grab a bag and bake as many as I want when I want.

DSCF6045

Having these cookies in the freezer for those special times when nothing else will do but CHOCOLATE is essential for me.  Having 8 dozen in the freezer just in case unexpected guests happen to drop by makes me happy, as do the cookies in the tin on the counter, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

12 responses

    • Great! I hope they turn out for you. Hubby and the kids finished off the cookies the first night. So much for having a quick chocolate fix. I guess I’ll have to use some of the frozen ones sooner than I thought.

    • Your cookies look delicious – especially on your Christmas plates! Just one question – if you bake them right out of the freezer is the baking time longer?

      • I’m not really sure. Typically when I have frozen cookies in the freezer I take them out, put them on the cookie tray lined with parchment paper, and bake them when they are defrosted. I’ll have to try them frozen and see.

      • Okay, so I decided to bake up a dozen from the freezer just to see how the baking time varied. It took 12 minutes for the cookies to be done rather than 10, but then I had fairly small cookies. I think that depending on how big you make your drops, the time should increase anywhere from 2 to 4 minutes. I used a cake tester to check the doneness and when it came out clean, I removed them from the oven. I checked at 10 minutes and then baked for 2 minutes more. I would test in 2-minute increments just to be sure you don’t over-cook.

  1. Pingback: Christmas Cookie #3 – Lemon Whippersnappers & Cranberry Lemon | Simply Grateful Housewife

  2. Pingback: Christmas Cookie #7 – Chocolate Pinwheel Cookies #1 | Simply Grateful Housewife

  3. Pingback: Triple Chocolate Cookie Bars | Simply Grateful Housewife

Leave a Reply

